The weekends are too short

Just a quick post…

This week I taught my first solo classes. Six 45-minute classes, lunch with kids, and joining in one recess games. My favorite recess game so far is “just one”. I played it at a small school with an enrollment of about 30, all the kids grades 1-6 played and three teachers joined in. We played it in the gym with two balls, soft about the size of soccer balls. Anyone can pick up a ball and throw it at any other player. The thrower is limited to three steps. If someone is hit, they are out until the person who got them out is out. So there is a constant rotation of players. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed playing with kids of all ages.

This week I also saw my first mukade of the year. Although I have never been stung, I am terrified of mukade because of the stories I’ve heard about people getting stung. There are many tales of being stung while sleeping…mukade fall from the ceiling. One of our neighbors once picked up a watering can and drank from the spout, only to have a mukade slide into his mouth. Yikes!

The city Library bookmobile visits schools regularly..there are also libraries in every school.

What a sunset this evening!

We’ve got a bed now and slowly we are moving into the kura. Nina arrived earlier this week…it sure is nice to have her with us. She went with some friends to the beach today and brought home uni and barnacles for dinner.

3 thoughts on “The weekends are too short

  1. What a postcard of a sunset…amazing. love all hte pictures and getting a glimpse into your days. How do you prepare uni and barnacles?

  2. Kato
    Had a fun dinner with Dan and Kent last night. We all wish you very genki health.
    Sidney is almost ready to go. Laptop, malaria pills, modest banquet dress!
    Hello to Nina Kai and Jiro
    love you always
    jk

  3. Now I have your blog and have it bookmarked it so I can check to see your progress.I really find it interesting and the way you lay things out is personalized and real. As soon as i can drag Des and Christy away from climbing trees and playing playstation, I will get them on board. Perhaps we can set up a country to country connection between their school and one of yours??? I will keep following the blog and give my best to Jiro…. Bob, Barbara and those little boys

Leave a Reply

