39 Degrees (Celcius)

It is so  hot and every time I run into someone that’s the first thing that is said. It feels hotter than it actually is because of this greeting heat factor.

There has been a lot of progress on our living space this weekend. Jiro hired a carpenter to get the building completed. He’s been working on this project too long by himself and needs to get back to his regular work. This is how the place looked on Friday…

Kura on Friday morning

Kura on Friday morning

They put the foundation in on Thursday for the entrance, bath and toilet. As it stands now, if I have to use the toilet at night, I have to run downstairs, across the street and use the toilet at Jiro’s mom house!

Here is how it looked on Sunday evening. There were three guys (including Jiro) working on this all weekend under the blistering hot sun.

Kura on Sunday

Kura on Sunday

They worked from 7 to 6 on Saturday. On Saturday night we went to a farewell concert for the teacher I am replacing and got home at 1:00 am. The concert was awesome….but when the construction guy was hammering away at 6:00 am this morning, I sure wished we had decided to come home earlier.

Some other construction pictures.

carpenter preparing a beam

carpenter preparing a beam

beams going up

beams going up

working on the roof

working on the roof

looking east

looking east

roof on Sunday evening

roof on Sunday evening

Lately I’ve been thinking about how the image of our life here in Japan is largely shaped by the photos I post. I always am looking for interesting or beautiful images to photograph, but the reality is a lot more cluttered and crazy. So the past few days I’ve been taking photos of stuff that I usually neglect to show.

Safety day…older people standing at intersections with flags that urge everyone to drive safely. Note the overhead crosswalk.

keeping the streets safe

keeping the streets safe

This was taken from the bike path that runs along the river.

bike path

bike path

Now for the rest…

This is right across the street from my office

across from my office

This is on the road along the coast

waiting for the price of metal to go up

waiting for the price of metal to go up

This is the cement plant right on the water…I did see heron fly off as I parked the car to take this photo.
Pacific Cement Company

Pacific Cement Company

At an intersection near our house, look at all the overhead wires

not new and new side by side

not new and new side by side

Looks like it’s going to be HOT!!! all week, I am really glad the air conditioning works in the office now. I wish the photos could convey how hot it is.

One thought on “39 Degrees (Celcius)

  1. It looks hot. There’s not a lot of shade in many of the pictures- I think that’s one reason the bike path looks so relaxing. I have a real weakness for new/not new pictures – thanks for including that one. I’m really interested to see how your living space is developing too.

Leave a Reply

