Spring is on its way and I’d rather be outside

magnolia buds

magnolia buds

I’m sitting at home today with a cold….it knocked me out yesterday, but I am feeling a bit better today. The last few weeks have been uneventful, but it is getting warmer and the cherry blossoms will be be blooming soon. I haven’t seen the cherry blossoms here in over 20 years so I am looking forward to a hanami party or two. The weather forecast now includes a cherry blossom forecast with predictions for when the cherry blossoms will be blooming in each region. It looks like March 25th will be prime cherry viewing time in here in Oita!

it wasn't windy enough to get it flying

it wasn't windy enough to get it flying

Last weekend was perhaps the first weekend I felt like I was home and that I wouldn’t be leaving soon. Because I have felt that this is a temporary situation, it has been tough to make connections and become involved in this community. I planted some seeds, baked some bread and made a big dinner. I am even thinking that I might invite people over for a party. Because Jiro’s mom lives so close, it is hard for me to completely relax and feel like this is our space and that I can do what I want to, when I want.

Jiro started doing yama-shigoto (thinning forests) for the forestry service. With the economy in such bad shape, we expect that sales will decline this year. I have applied for another job at a university about an hour from here,  but I am not sure if I am ready for yet one more change in my life. However my current job is not stimulating enough for me and there really is no opportunity for growth there. I’m not going to spend too much time fretting about it now…I may not even be called for an interview.

The Japanese school year is about to end so I am making last-visit-of-the-school-year visits now. I will attend one sixth-grade graduation for 3 students. There are only 15 students in the school. Of the 3 who are graduating, one will go to the local jr high and the other 2 will go into town for school. It’s surprising to me that they keep the jr high going, there is only 1 fifth grader…

Not much to write about…and having a cold is slowing me down.

Hey look what we can do

Hey look what we can do

3 thoughts on “Spring is on its way and I’d rather be outside

  1. Miss you guys! Coen will be one in a month! I cant wait to hang his kite for boys day. Hope you feel better soon.
    Hugs,
    Charissa

  2. The cherry blossoms we have in DC are from Japan (many decades ago). I too am looking forward to their bloom. Need to check to see when the bloom prediction is for here. Hope your cold has gone the way ofo the past.

  3. Hey Kate,
    Just finished an essay (part of a longer book) by Malcolm Gladwell who postulates that the failure of American schools in their inordinate length of their vacation periods.

    Our kids start even but slowly fall behind—this is especially true of those from “poor” families. The ones from “wealthy” show no regression after summer vacation and even show a gain.

    Interesting book; I realize, after rereading this, that this recommendation is sorta stupid. Your access to an English language is so limited. Sorry

    Love

    Dad

Leave a Reply

