Back in the Saddle Again

Rafting on the Deschutes

Rafting on the Deschutes

I returned last week from an exhilarating and invigorating trip to Oregon and Washington that lasted long enough to cure all homesickness and replenish my soul for another year so far away.

Mt. Hood from the east side

Mt. Hood from the east side

Hiking, movie watching, camping, eating, Trader Joesing, kayaking, reading, drinking, farmers’ market shopping, laughing, English talking, blueberry and peach picking, walking, street sign reading, rafting, bar-b-cuing, orca watching, banagramming, clothes shopping, zoo concerting, and bagel eating.

Marke bread, figs and melon prepared by  Maureen

Market bread, figs and melon prepared by Maureen

Microbrews, pizza, pulled pork sandwiches, samosas, tacos, salads, feta cheese, plums, peaches, blueberries, raspberries, spanakopita, green beans, figs, corn, tomatoes, peppers, melons oh my

The only thing missing was Jiro….so many times I thought, if only Jiro were here. We’ve got to figure out a way that we can both leave at the same time.

August is the best time to be in the Pacific Northwest (also true: the PNW is the best place to be in August)!—-it’s also the most miserable time in Kyushu, so a great time to be gone.
Soon after my return back to Saiki, I came down with a fever, cough and headache. I worried that I had picked up H1N1, but apparently not. A day of rest put me back on my feet.

Now that I am back, I will work on keeping the blog updated…sorry for the long hiatus, but I wasn’t about to stop having fun to write while I was on vacation.

Berries, peaches & flowers picked at Sauvie Island

Berries, peaches & flowers picked at Sauvie Island

The rice is about ready to be harvested. We are almost through the last year’s harvest that we received from relatives and people who lease some of our land. Jiro and I took 30 kilos to be husked tonight.

There is also a new prime minister, but I am not holding my breath for any significant change.

Newport Beach, Oregon

Newport Beach, Oregon

Already thinking about how things will be different once I quit my full-time teaching next March. Better tell the boss soon-doubt he reads this blog!

Thanks to everyone who made my trip so much fun. Wish I had had more time to see more family (Bob & Barbara, especially) and friends, but time ran out.

Can’t wait for next summer.

One thought on “Back in the Saddle Again

Leave a Reply

